How I Discovered Feminism

enhanced-buzz-wide-3303-1408447264-17.jpg

source: https://www.buzzfeed.com/catesevilla/feminist-photos-from-around-the-world-then-and-now?utm_term=.nrvXGkNKR#.rkYLKEvlr

At the ripe age of 12, Emma Watson spoke publicly about her views on feminism. I find Emma Watson to be a large figure, seeing as her work for HeForShe is making such a big impact. Once I heard her speech, I began completely diving into feminism based on what’s available on the internet, I wrote essays (some I have published on here).

“I started questioning gender-based assumptions when at eight I was confused at being called “bossy,” because I wanted to direct the plays we would put on for our parents—but the boys were not.

When at 14 I started being sexualized by certain elements of the press.

When at 15 my girlfriends started dropping out of their sports teams because they didn’t want to appear “muscly.”

When at 18 my male friends were unable to express their feelings.

I decided I was a feminist and this seemed uncomplicated to me. But my recent research has shown me that feminism has become an unpopular word.’ – See more at: http://www.unwomen.org/en/news/stories/2014/9/emma-watson-gender-equality-is-your-issue-too#sthash.5RIgzHef.dpuf

I am not going to explain to you what feminism is, because if I have to, unless you were just born, you’re the most oblivious person to ever exist. After my deep dive into the depths of feminism, I realized how much sexism is surrounding. As a young girl, I find it to be unfair that we are not treated the same, because we should.

Some of my female friends at school are on much tighter “leaches” than their brothers. Like earlier curfews. Not being allowed to date. Not being able to dress for themselves. These may seem like silly issues that won’t matter when they move out, but truthfully it is putting this stigma in our heads that we have to remain protected and covered at all times. Isn’t sad how we are raised in fear of others?

I know boys who are going through so much, but are afraid to reveal that they are upset. They hide their emotions in an unhealthy way that can lead to many issues. Boys are allowed to have emotions, otherwise they aren’t human. Boys don’t have to be “manly”, they can be whatever they want to be. Don’t judge them for being human, they have every right to be.

To Everyone:

  1. Don’t refer to anyone as a “slut”. No one is a slut, they’re are simply living as they wish.
  2. Stop it with the friend zone. No one owes you a relationship for being kind to them, get over yourself.
  3. Don’t body shame. It’s not your body!
  4. Support others. Don’t bring anyone down.

Best Wishes ♥

 

Leave a Reply

